MEC congratulate Mthembu on Comrades victory


MEC for Arts, Culture, Sport and Recreation, Bongi Sithole-Moloi congratulates KwaZulu-Natal athlete Bongmusa Mthembu for his remarkable win in the Comrades Marathon this morning, 10/06/2018.

Mthembu’s win is his third in the Comrades, and becoming the first South African male runner to achieve back-to-back wins in 30 years after he won the up-run last year.

Mthembu reached the finish line at Moses Mabhida Stadium in 5:26:39. He was followed by another South African, Joseph Mphuthi in second spot in a time of 5:35:14.

South Africa's Ann Ashworth won the women's race with a time of 6:10:04.

Mthembu is part of the Department’s Elite Athlete Development Programme that assists KZN athletes with high performance training and support. The Department also awards R45 000 to first KZN runners, male and female, to cross the finish line.

“On behalf of the Premier, Willies Mchunu, the Provincial Government and the people of KwaZulu-Natal, I wish to congratulate Mthembu for this win. He has made us proud and has once again demonstrated that our Province is rich with talent. The Department will continue to offer high level support to our elite athletes through the EADP programme as well as sports academies. We are also intensifying our development programmes to unearth more talented athletes like Mthembu, especially in rural areas,” said MEC Sithole-Moloi.

“Out of the top 10 male runners seven are South Africans. We are extremely proud of this achievement today. We also congratulate the women runners, especially South Africans, for their splendid performance.”

The South African runners have displayed a deep sense of patriotism during this year’s Marathon.

The top 10 male winners:

                      1.  Bongmusa Mthembu (RSA) 5:26:34

                      2.  Joseph Mphuthi (RSA) 5:35:09

                      3.  Steven Way (GBR) 5:35:27

                      4.  Edward Mothibi (RSA) 5:36:32

                      5.  Marko Mambo (ZIM) 5:37:32

                      6.  Gordon Lesetedi (RSA) 5:39:32

                      7.  Teboho Sello (LES) 5:42:21

                      8.  David Gatebe (RSA) 5:42:43

                      9.  Gift Kelehe (RSA) 5:46:50

                      10. Nkosinathi Duma (RSA) 5:47:09

Top 10 Women winners

                      1.  Ann Ashworth (RSA) 6:10:04

                      2.  Gerda Steyn (RSA) 6:15:34

                      3.  Alexandra Morozova (RUS) 6:20:21

                      4.  Tanith Maxwell (RSA) 6:20:35

                      5.  Charne Bosman (RSA) 6:33:08

                      6.  Sophia Sundberg (SWE) 6:45:24

                      7.  Devon Yanko (USA) 6:47:44

                      8.  Sarah Bard (USA) 6:49:05

                      9.  Carla Molinaro (GBR) 6:50:31

                      10. Yolande Maclean (RSA) 6:52:16


A healthy, winning, and socially cohesive province through sport and recreation.

Follow Us

Contact us

  • 135 Pietermartiz Street, Pietermartizburg, 3200
  • Call Us: +2733 897 9400
  • Mail Us:
  • 07.30 am - 4.00 pm.