Date set for 2017 KZN Sport Awards


The MEC for Arts, Culture, Sport and Recreation, Bongi Sithole-Moloi has confirmed the date for the 2017 KwaZulu-Natal Sport Awards. The prestigious awards ceremony will take place at 18h30 on Friday, 15 September at Durban’s Chief Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (ICC).

The Awards, hosted by the Department of Sport and Recreation in partnership with the KZN Sports Confederation, seek to recognize and reward the exceptional performances and accomplishments of athletes, administrators, coaches, teams and sports media personnel from the Province, on and off the field of play.

The Awards recognize the top achievers in the Province in the sporting landscape, for the period 01 August 2016 to 31 July 2017, with the aim of propelling them to greater heights. The nomination process is already underway with Sport Federations and media houses expected to submit the names of nominees. A panel of judges will shortlist the nominees from the various categories and eventually decide on the winners. The panel is made up of sports writers and representatives from recognized sports bodies.

 The public will be given an opportunity to vote for their favourite sports personalities through an SMS vote line in the Sports Personality of the Year Award.

MEC Sithole-Moloi said: "Once again the moment has arrived where we get an opportunity to reward and recognize the achievement of our champions on and off the field of play. The Sport Awards are a celebration of excellence and the spirit of fair play by giving recognition to athletes, coaches and administrators who continue to fly the Province’s flag at national and international podiums. We look forward to a great function that will surpass the previous awards in terms of quality, offering and standard of nominees to be awarded.”

MEC Sithole-Moloi also revealed that this year’s awards categories have been aligned with the South African Sport Awards and winners from the Province will be entered into the national awards.

The hosting of the 2017 Sport Awards follows the successful hosting of the 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Awards ceremonies.

The Award categories are as follows:

Administrator of the Year

Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Junior Sportsman of the Year

Sportswoman of the Year

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability

Sportsman of the Year

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability

Team of the Year

Indigenous Games Team of the Year

New Comer of the Year

Coach of the Year

Recreation body of the Year

Federation of the Year

Photographer of the Year

Journalist of the Year

Electronic Media Award

Sports Personality of the Year

School Team of the Year

Developing School Team of the Year

Volunteer of the Year

MEC of Sports Awards

-        Lifetime Achiever Award x 1

-        Against All Odds Award x 1

-        Honour: White / Black Blazer x 1

-        Posthumous Outstanding Performance in his lifetime x 1


A healthy, winning, and socially cohesive province through sport and recreation.

Follow Us

Contact us

  • 135 Pietermartiz Street, Pietermartizburg, 3200
  • Call Us: +2733 897 9400
  • Mail Us:
  • 07.30 am - 4.00 pm.