Nominations finalized for 2017 KZN Sport Awards


The panel of independent judges has finalized the shortlisting of nominees for the 2017 KwaZulu-Natal Sport Awards scheduled to take place at the Chief Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban at 18h30 on Friday, 15 September 2017.

The panel has been drawn from various sectors of the sports fraternity, including administrators, coaches and media personalities. The nomination process started with the submission of entries by different sports federations in KwaZulu-Natal, highlighting the achievements of each entrant for the period 01 August 2016 to 31 July 2017.

The panel has drawn a shortlist of three nominees per category. The winners of each category will be announced during the glittering Awards ceremony on 15 September, hosted by MEC for Arts, Culture, Sport and Recreation, Bongi Sithole-Moloi

A total of 22 categories will be presented at the Awards, including three special awards to be bestowed by MEC Sithole-Moloi. These are Lifetime Achievement Award, MEC Special Honour Award and Posthumous Recognition Award.

Vote for Sports Personality of the Year – SMS Vote line 33258

In order to ensure community involvement, members of the public are given an opportunity to vote for their favourite sports star in the Sports Personality of the Year Category. Voting is conducted through an SMS line. SMS -KZNAWARDS and name of your chosen athlete to 33258. SMS cost R1.50. Closing date for voting is 00h00 on Friday, 15/09/2017.

“The moment has come once again when we get the opportunity to recognize the achievements of our sportsmen and women who continue to fly the flag of the Province on national and international stages,” said MEC Sithole-Moloi.

“These awards are in line with our vision of creating an active and winning Province. KwaZulu-Natal is well known for producing top class talent and through these awards we want to encourage them to work harder to achieve more podium results.”

MEC Sithole-Moloi urged the public to vote in numbers for the Sports Personality of the Year category which features the Province’s top talented athletes from different sport codes.

The results of the public SMS votes and judgment process are audited by independent auditors to ensure transparency.

The nominees for the Sports Personality of the Year Category are as follows:

No. Name Surname Code of Sport
1 Bongiwe Msomi Netball
2 Keshav Maharaj Cricket
3 Sebastian Crawford Triathlon
4 Bongumusa Mthembu Athletics
5 Tyrone Pillay Athletics
6 Dinesha Devnarain Cricket
7 Chloe Tryon Cricket
8 Jean-Luc du Preez Rugby 
9 Imran Tahir Cricket
10 Hank McGregor Canoeing
11 Henri Schoeman Triathlon
12 Andile Phehlukwayo Cricket


A healthy, winning, and socially cohesive province through sport and recreation.

Follow Us

Contact us

  • 135 Pietermartiz Street, Pietermartizburg, 3200
  • Call Us: +2733 897 9400
  • Mail Us:
  • 07.30 am - 4.00 pm.