2016 KZN Sports Awards Nominees finalized


A panel of judges has finalized the shortlisting of nominees for the 2016 KwaZulu-Natal Sports Awards scheduled to take place at the Chief Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban on Friday, 23 September 2016.

The panel has been drawn from various sectors of the sports fraternity, including administrators, coaches, media personalities and commentators. The nomination process involves the submission of entries from the different sports federations in KwaZulu-Natal, highlighting the achievements of each entrant for the period 01 August 2015 to 31 July 2016.

The panel then draws a shortlist of three to four nominees per category. The winners of each category will be announced during the glittering Awards ceremony on 23 September, hosted by MEC for Arts, Culture, Sport and Recreation, Bongi Sithole-Moloi. A total of 19 categories will be presented at the Awards, including three special awards to be bestowed by MEC Sithole-Moloi. These are Lifetime Achievement Award, MEC Special Honour Award and Posthumous Recognition Award.

Vote for Sports Personality of the Year – SMS line

In order to ensure community involvement, members of the public are given an opportunity to vote for their favourite sports star in the Sports Personality of the Year Category. Voting is conducted through an SMS line 33258 SMS the words: “Ompethabethu” followed by the name of the your favourite star from the list below.

“Our vision as the Department of Sport and Recreation is to be an active and winning Province. Hence through these Awards we recognize our upcoming and established sports stars who continue to represent our Province on national and international stages,” said MEC Sithole-Moloi.

“The role of sports fans, families and communities in developing an athlete is critical in sports development. That is why we want the community to be part of this recognition we are giving to people who have played a role in elevating KZN as a winning province.”

“We call upon members of the public to vote for their favourite sports stars through the dedicated SMS number,” she said.

Voting closes at 12 noon on Friday, 23 September.

The results of the public SMS votes and judgment process are audited by independent auditors to ensure transparency.

The nominees for the Sports Personality of the Year Category are as follows:




Dinesha Devnerain


Alani Ferreira


Brigette Hartley


Hylton Heggie


Phindile Makhaye

Synchronised Swimming

Hank McGregor


Sihle Mntungwa


Sphelele Mthembu


Henri Schoeman


Melissa Ann van Bosch



A healthy, winning, and socially cohesive province through sport and recreation.

Follow Us

Contact us

  • 135 Pietermartiz Street, Pietermartizburg, 3200
  • Call Us: +2733 897 9400
  • Mail Us: info@kzndsr.gov.za
  • 07.30 am - 4.00 pm.