KZN Sports Awards 2016 – MEC calls for renewed effort to transform sport


The MEC for Arts, Culture, Sport and Recreation, Bongi Sithole-Moloi, has called for a renewed vigor by KwaZulu-Natal sports federations in implementing sports development programmes that will fast-track transformation of sports in the Province.

Sithole-Moloi was speaking during the KZN Sports Awards ceremony at the Chief Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre on Friday, 23/09/16. The function, attended by the who’s who of sport in KZN, was hosted by the Department of Sport and Recreation to honour KwaZulu-Natal Athletes who have achieved excellent performances between 01 August 2015 and 31 July 2016.

MEC Sithole-Moloi also used the Awards ceremony to pay tribute to KZN athletes who participated in the recently held Olympic and Paralympic Games at Rio de Janeiro in Brazil. Their recent performances were not considered for the awards due to the deadline for submission of entries falling before the start of the Rio Olympic.

“KwaZulu-Natal produced 18 athletes in the Olympics and Paralympics with Aquatics leading the way with eight athletes as part of Team South Africa. We are especially proud of Chad le Clos, Henri Schoeman, Tyrone Pillay and Kevin Paul for putting KZN firmly on the international radar with five Olympic and Paralympic medals shared between them. The experience gained by our youthful Olympians will prove invaluable for the future, and we are confident that we will achieve more podium finishes in the upcoming international competitions,” she said.

MEC Sithole Moloi added that transformation of sport remains high on the agenda of government and urged federations to fast-track the implement traceable development programmes that will change the composition of South African teams to reflect the country’s demographics.

“The Department of Sport and Recreation will continue to support sport federations to implement development programmes and capacity building. However, in return we need to see a renewed vigour in the implementation of development programmes, based on achievable targets and results driven. This is our call for more radical action towards a transformed sports landscape for our province,” she said.


“Whilst we recognize the performances of our teams, we believe we still have some-way to go before we can ensure that our national teams are truly representative of the demographics of our country. Our role as government is to facilitate access and create more opportunities for our youth to display their talent on the world-stage. As a Department we are focused on enhancing our development programmes to fast-track the athlete-development pathway that will lead to more podium finishes especially for talented athletes from less developed areas of our province.”

The evening belonged to athletes, coaches, administrators and their families as they were called on stage to be honoured with medals, trophy and prize monies.

Female cricketer Dinesha Devnerain walked away with the Sports Personality of the Year Award after receiving the majority of votes from the SMS public voting line. This was the only category that was voted for by the public. Others were selected by an independent panel of judges.

Triathlon star Henri Schoeman was selected as Sportsman of the Year, while canoeist Bridgitte Hartley walked away with the Sportswoman of the Year Award.

Other category winners are as follows:

Developing School Team of the Year

Mthethomusha Primary School Football Team – UMgungundlovu

School Team of the Year

Kokstad Primary School Hockey Team –Harry Gwala District

Junior Sportsman of the Year

Jean van der Westhuisen (Canoeing)

Junior Sportswoman of the Yea

sasmin Martin (Judo)

Photographer of the Year

Jabulani Langa (Daily Sun)

Journalist of the Year

Mininhle Mkhize (Isolezwe)

Recreation Body of the Year

Coastal Horse Care Unit

Federation of the Year

KZN Aquatics

Administrator of the Year

Freedom Masondo (Karate full contact)

Coach of the Year

Craig Mustard (Canoeing)Sportsman of the Year with a Disability

Sihle Mntungwa (Judo)

Sportswoman of the Year

Bridgitte Hartley

Aportsman of the Year Henri Schoeman Team of the Year

KZN Inland Senior Team (Cricket)

Sports Personality of the Year

Dinesha Devnerain


A healthy, winning, and socially cohesive province through sport and recreation.

Follow Us

Contact us

  • 135 Pietermartiz Street, Pietermartizburg, 3200
  • Call Us: +2733 897 9400
  • Mail Us:
  • 07.30 am - 4.00 pm.