Sports MEC congratulates Team KZN for Indigenous Games Win


The MEC for Arts, Culture, Sport and Recreation in KwaZulu-Natal, Mrs. Bongi Sithole-Moloi has applauded the Provincial Indigenous Games Team for once again winning the National Games held in Polokwane, Limpopo this week.

The annual games formed part of Heritage Month activities and had all 11 provinces taking part at Seshego Stadium from 24-28 September.

This was the 6th version of the games organized by Sport and Recreation SA, and KZN has won on all occasions.

“The big investment that our government is making into the development of all types of sporting codes is already showing signs of success. As government we will continue to support out athletes and teams to cement our status as the Province of winners,” remarked the elated Sithole-Moloi.

The aim of the Indigenous Games programme is to revive and preserve the games played by different South African communities for future generations to enjoy.

Team KZN were clear winners at 48 overall points after bagging a whopping seven (7) gold medals, 17 silver medals and two (2) bronze medals. They were followed by Limpopo Province with 28 overall points which is a 20 points gap.

Ntokozo Ngcobo, KZN umlabalaba female player who won a Gold Medal was filled with joy after winning her medal. “I’m thrilled and very happy for winning the gold medal. I was expecting to win this gold medal even though the new system they applied to the games was not good and it was so unfair to teams. But I’m very satisfied with the results we got;” she said.

Mrs. Rohini Naidoo, the Head of the KZN Department of Sport and Recreation said she believed that the reason why Team KZN continues being dominant at this sport is through their effective structures and skilled athletes at all levels as well as good team preparation.


A healthy, winning, and socially cohesive province through sport and recreation.

Follow Us

Contact us

  • 135 Pietermartiz Street, Pietermartizburg, 3200
  • Call Us: +2733 897 9400
  • Mail Us:
  • 07.30 am - 4.00 pm.